Tag Archive | "Music"

Photos from HARD Holy Ship 2012

Tags: , , ,

Photos from HARD Holy Ship 2012

Posted on 10 January 2012 by shaunt

Photos via Spin Magazine

Comments Off

Kitsuné Maison Compilation 9 Announced

Tags: , , , , ,

Kitsuné Maison Compilation 9 Announced

Posted on 13 March 2010 by shaunt


Our favorite franco-japanese record compilation series is hitting installment number 9. “Kitsuné Maison 9” will be released April 26, 2010 on the Kitsuné label featuring a compilation of various signature underground independent rock, disco-influence-heavy electropop and synthrock tracks.  Pick it up on iTunes, Amazon, Beatport, eMusic, and other fine digital outlets.

Tracklist :
01 : Washed Out “Belong”
02 : Gamble & Burke “Let’s Go Together”
03 : Penguin Prison “Animal Animal”
04 : Jamaica “Short and Entertaining”
05 : Crookers feat. Yelle “Cooler Couleur”
06 : Jupiter “Vox Populi (Lifelike Treatment)”
07 : Yuksek “Supermenz (We’re Not)
08 : Fenech-Soler “Stop And Stare”
09 : Two Door Cinema Club “Something Good Can Work (The Twelves Remix)”
10 : Logo “La Vie Moderne”
11 : Silver Columns “Brow Beaten”
12 : Holy Ghost ! “Say My Name”
13 : Hurts “Wonderful Life (Arthur Baker Remix Kitsuné Edit)”
14 : Gypsy & The Cat “Time to Wander (Joan of Arc Remix)”
15 : Feldberg “Dreamin’”
16 : Your Nature “Forward Motion”
17 : The Good Natured “Your Body is a Machine (Zebra + Snake Remix)”
18 : Monarchy “The Phoenix Alive (The Octans Edit)”

Comments Off


Tags: , ,

Phoenix – If I Ever Feel Better

Posted on 11 November 2008 by shaunt

Originally posted 9/16/08

Phoenix formed in 1991 in the semi-affluent Parisian suburb of Versailles, in the same culture that produced late-90s bands such as Air and Daft Punk. Interestingly enough, lead guitarist Laurent Brancowitz was part of the band Darlin’ with Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, who eventually became Daft Punk.

In 2000, Phoenix released their debut album United, featuring their most popular song If I Ever Feel Better, which topped the charts (particularly in France) for quite some time.

I was most recently reminded of this track as it was used in the closing credits of the most recent episode of the HBO show Entourage (S5Ep2). Since then, it’s been one of those rare tracks that I can’t get out of my head, which has earned it the distinction of being post-worthy… It features a funky bassline, eerie chords, and an overall fun listening experience. Enjoy.

Like it? Buy United on Amazon.

Comments (1)


Tags: , , , , ,

New Justice Track – Planisphere

Posted on 06 September 2008 by shaunt

In July, we posted about a mix that Justice did for the runway of the Dior Homme collection.

Justice has done a new fifteen minute mix for the Dior Homme fashion show in Paris, just like Daft Punk did last summer for Louis Vuitton. On the 29th of June Justice dropped the brand new track to accompany the runway. The track features heavy synths and bass-lines, harpsichord progressions, and elements of Justice tracks that we all love.

The mix was revealed as a brand new composition by the duo exclusively for the show, and there was no evidence to support a record release of the mix. The track did inevitably leak to the web as a low quality bootleg copy, ripped directly from the video. Today, however, the original clean recording of the track leaked to the web, resurfacing as Planisphere.

We have a copy of the track here for your listening pleasure. Enjoy.


Comments (2)


Tags: , , ,

Kitsune Maison Compilation 6 Announced

Posted on 05 September 2008 by shaunt

Kitsuné release season compilation returns, the sixth of its kind and still homemade and gold wrapped. There’s more to get excited about on Kitsuné’s sieve, lots of new treasures to find in the river. Quite a lot of as yet unchartered avenues and hot new acts that will probably get raved about in no time. A true gold issue with as ever enough fresh material to impress the blasé-est of blasés.

There’s not just one Kitsuné sound but plenty. Extreme twisted sonorities that will make you jump up and down uncontrollably, enough to electrocute a dancefloor or two. Kitsuné keeps on working for you, manically preparing ground, broadening its musical network without frontiers and outside churches. On board this time there are young girls, sea dogs, Californian twins, young wolves and loonies. A wonderful mess, a spontaneous shamble that screams out loud.

01 Lo-Fi-Fnk – Want U
02 La Roux – Quicksand
03 Pnau – With You Forever
04 You Love Her Coz Shes Dead – Superheroes
05 Ted & Francis – I Wish I Was A Polar Bear (Artic Urgency Edit)
06 Digitalism – Taken Away (Instrumental)
07 autoKratz – Stay The Same (Edit)
08 Beni – My Love Sees You
09 Fischerspooner – Danse En France (D.I.M. Remix)
10 Etienne De Crécy et Monsieur Jo – Hanukkah
11 Streetlife DJs – We Love The Disco Sound (Radio Edit)
12 A-Trak – Say Whoa
13 We Have Band – Hear It In The Cans (DIY Version)
14 Heartsrevolution – Ultraviolence
15 Grovesnor – Drive You Car (Hot Chip Remix)
16 David E Sugar – Although You May Laugh
17 Appaloosa – The Day (We Fell In Love)
18 Piste Presque Fantôme
19 The Shoes – Let’s Go

The CD release of the album is due October 21, 2008.

Comments Off

Photos from our Flickr stream

See all photos

Advertise Here
Photos from FYF Fest

Advertise Here
Featured Photo Sets:
Photos from Coachella 2010 Part 1

Photos from Coachella 2010 Part 2

Photos from Busy P's Birthday / Coachella Afterparty